Map marker icon  5021 E. Anaheim Street Long Beach CA 90804 • (562) 494-1014

Heart icon Donate   Volunteer   Audition Twitter Facebook Email

Loading Events

Studio Theatre

ANGELS IN AMERICA – PART ONE: MILLENNIUM APPROACHES

Jun. 20 to Jul. 18, 2020
by Tony Kushner

About the Play/Event

Director: Ryan Holihan
Run: Jun. 20 — Jul. 18, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
Online Tickets will be Available Soon.
Email the Box Office at BoxOffice@lbplayhouse.org with any questions.

 

NEW DATES:
  • Friday, June 19, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, June 20, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, June 26, 8pm
  • Saturday, June 27, 8pm
  • Sunday, June 28, 2pm
  • Thursday, July 2, 8pm
  • Friday, July 3, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 4 – No Show
  • Sunday, July 5, 2pm
  • Friday, July 10, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 11, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 12, 2pm
  • Friday, July 17, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 18, 8pm – Closing Night

 

PLEASE NOTE: The Studio Theater is on the 2nd Floor, it is only accessible by stairs, there is no elevator.

 

Daring and dazzling! The most ambitious American play of our time: an epic that ranges from earth to heaven; focuses on politics, sex and religion; transports us to Washington, the Kremlin, the South Bronx, Salt Lake City and Antarctica; deals with Jews, Mormons, WASPs, blacks; switches between realism and fantasy, from the tragedy of AIDS to the camp comedy of drag queens to the death or at least the absconding of God.
Synopsis
At the height of the AIDS epidemic in mid 1980s New York, a group of charismatic, but lost characters tackle politics, sex, religion, and a way forward in Tony Kushner’s Pulitzer Prize winning two-part epic that has been called one of the most important plays of the last 30 years. After experiencing Part One: Millennium Approaches this season, you’ll be counting the days before returning to next season’s opener, Part Two: Perestroika.  This moving, funny, gut-wrenching masterpiece will fill you with emotional highs and lows, draw you in and trap you in its web of global and timeless issues.
 JOIN OUR FACEBOOK EVENT AND LET US KNOW YOU’RE COMING!

 

 

« Back to Shows