Map marker icon  5021 E. Anaheim Street Long Beach CA 90804 • (562) 494-1014

Heart icon Donate   Volunteer   Audition Twitter Facebook Email

Loading Events

Shows

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

March 2020

Ticket icon  Tickets

THE UPPERCLASSMEN

Mar. 8 to Oct. 18, 2020

About the Play

Run: Mar. 8 to Oct. 18, 2020

Choose a Date

Find Tickets Here!

Synopsis

The Upperclassmen come to the Long Beach Playhouse for another year of comedy and improv! Playing in the Studio theater. Tickets are $5.00 presale*, $10.00 at the door. (For online tickets, click the $5 dollar presale discount option in the process of purchasing tickets.)

View More Details

Ticket icon  Tickets

Fistful of Improv

Mar. 22 to Dec. 13, 2020

About the Play

Run: Mar. 22 to Dec. 13, 2020

Choose a Date

 

Find Upcoming Show Dates Here

 

Synopsis

A Fistful Of Improv is a comedy troupe born and bred on the streets of Long Beach.  They were founded in January of 2011 and have been performing at many stages across Los Angeles and Orange Counties since April of that same year. They are continuously looking for new ways to push the limits of improv comedy and strive to reach new frontiers with each performance. They are proud to call the Long Beach Playhouse their home and look forward…

View More Details

April 2020

AUDITIONS: THE MOTHERF**KER WITH THE HAT

Apr. 13 to Apr. 15, 2020
Stephen Adly Guirgis

About the Play

Director: James Rice
Run: Apr. 13 to Apr. 15, 2020 , Performs June 6 - July 3, 2020

Synopsis

AUDITION NOTICE: TITLE: THE MOTHERF**KER WITH THE HAT AUTHOR: Stephen Adly Guirgis DIRECTOR: James Rice RUN: June 6, 2020 through July 3, 2020. Fridays & Saturdays 8pm, Sundays at 2pm. Special performances on Thursday and Sunday nights may be added for private parties and special events. This is a community theater production.  Non-Equity.  There is no pay.  AUDITION DATES: Open Call: Dates: Monday, April 13 & Tuesday, 14, 2020 Times: 7pm – 9pm Location: Long Beach Playhouse   Callbacks: Date…

View More Details

May 2020

CAT ON A HOT TIN ROOF

May. 30 to Jun. 27, 2020
Written by Tennessee Williams

About the Play

Director: Sharyn Case
Run: May. 30 to Jun. 27, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
Online Tickets will be Available Soon.
Email the Box Office at BoxOffice@lbplayhouse.org with any questions.

 

NEW DATES!:
  • Friday, May 29, 2020, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, May 30, 2020, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, June 5, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, June 6, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, June 7, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, June 12, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, June 13, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, June 14, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, June 19, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, June 20, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, June 21, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, June 26, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, June 27, 2020, 8pm – Closing Night
Synopsis

In what is possibly Tennessee Williams’ most famous and well-loved dramas of the modern theatre, Maggie and Brick are trying to survive the ever present tension when Brick’s family gets together to celebrate Big Daddy’s 65th (and possibly last) birthday.  As the family members jockey for power and favoritism, secrets are exposed and weaknesses and insecurities are put to the test.  In this latest version of the timeless drama, emotions have never been laid more bare and we have never…

View More Details

June 2020

ANGELS IN AMERICA – PART ONE: MILLENNIUM APPROACHES

Jun. 20 to Jul. 18, 2020
by Tony Kushner

About the Play

Director: Ryan Holihan
Run: Jun. 20 to Jul. 18, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
Online Tickets will be Available Soon.
Email the Box Office at BoxOffice@lbplayhouse.org with any questions.

 

NEW DATES:
  • Friday, June 19, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, June 20, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, June 26, 8pm
  • Saturday, June 27, 8pm
  • Sunday, June 28, 2pm
  • Thursday, July 2, 8pm
  • Friday, July 3, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 4 – No Show
  • Sunday, July 5, 2pm
  • Friday, July 10, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 11, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 12, 2pm
  • Friday, July 17, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 18, 8pm – Closing Night

 

PLEASE NOTE: The Studio Theater is on the 2nd Floor, it is only accessible by stairs, there is no elevator.

 

Synopsis

At the height of the AIDS epidemic in mid 1980s New York, a group of charismatic, but lost characters tackle politics, sex, religion, and a way forward in Tony Kushner’s Pulitzer Prize winning two-part epic that has been called one of the most important plays of the last 30 years. After experiencing Part One: Millennium Approaches this season, you’ll be counting the days before returning to next season’s opener, Part Two: Perestroika.  This moving, funny, gut-wrenching masterpiece will fill you…

View More Details

July 2020

Stephen Sondheim’s COMPANY

Jul. 11 to Aug. 15, 2020
Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by George Furth

About the Play

Run: Jul. 11 to Aug. 15, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
Online Tickets will be Available Soon.
Email the Box Office at BoxOffice@lbplayhouse.org with any questions.

 

NEW DATES:
  • Friday, July 10, 2020, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, July 11, 2020, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, July 17, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 18, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 19, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, July 24, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 25, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 26, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, July 31, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 1, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, Aug. 2, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, Aug. 7, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 8, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, Aug. 9, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, Aug. 14, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 15, 2020, 8pm – Closing Night
Synopsis

On his 35th birthday, the confirmed bachelor Robert celebrates yet again with his collection of married friends, and begins to question his place in their lives.  As it becomes clear that he is using these relationships as a shield to fully committing in his own life, he makes self-discoveries, both crushing and highly comic, that will propel him into his own future.  Peppered with some of Sondheim’s greatest songs, such as “Being Alive” and “The Ladies Who Lunch,” this classic…

View More Details

August 2020

THE MOTHERF**KER WITH THE HAT

Aug. 1 to Aug. 29, 2020
by Stephen Adly Guirgis

About the Play

Director: James Rice
Run: Aug. 1 to Aug. 29, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
Online Tickets will be Available Soon.
Email the Box Office at BoxOffice@lbplayhouse.org with any questions.

 

NEW DATES:
  • Friday, July 31, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Aug. 1, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, Aug. 7, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 8, 8pm
  • Sunday, Aug. 9, 2pm
  • Friday, Aug. 14, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 15, 8pm
  • Sunday, Aug. 16, 2pm
  • Friday, Aug. 21, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 22, 8pm
  • Sunday, Aug. 23, 2pm
  • Friday, Aug. 28, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 29, 8pm – Closing Night

 

PLEASE NOTE: The Studio Theater is on the 2nd Floor, it is only accessible by stairs, there is no elevator.

 

Synopsis

Fresh from prison and trying to stay clean and sober, Jackie must deal with the complications of a still-addicted girlfriend, his untrustworthy sponsor, and an unwanted admirer in this funny and unvarnished look at a group of street-wise New Yorkers who make a simple love triangle look tame. A hugely popular and critical hit when it played on Broadway starring comedian Chris Rock, this “unromantically romantic comedy,” deals with issues as varied as love, addiction, friendship, trust, and deceit.  Recovery…

View More Details

September 2020

INTIMATE APPAREL

Sep. 5 to Oct. 3, 2020
Written by Lynn Nottage

About the Play

Director: Brooke Aston
Run: Sep. 5 to Oct. 3, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
Online Tickets will be Available Soon.
Email the Box Office at BoxOffice@lbplayhouse.org with any questions.

 

NEW DATES:
  • Friday, Sept. 4, 2020, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Sept. 5, 2020, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, Sept 11, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, Sept. 12, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, Sept. 13, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, Sept. 18, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, Sept. 19, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, Sept. 20, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, Sept. 25, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, Sept. 26, 2020, 8pm
  • Sunday, Sept. 27, 2020, 2pm
  • Friday, Oct. 2, 2020, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 3, 2020, 8pm – Closing Night
Synopsis

From Pulitzer Prize winning playwright Lynn Nottage, writer of Crumbs from the Table of Joy and By the Way, Meet Vera Stark, comes this tale of love and desire at the turn of the 20th century.  Esther, a talented black seamstress, saves her money as she works toward her future sewing intimate apparel for wealthy matrons and prostitutes alike.  Even as she longs for a forbidden love, she accepts a future with a distant correspondent who woos her with possibilities. …

View More Details

THE CRIPPLE OF INISHMAAN

Sep. 25 to Oct. 24, 2020
by Martin McDonagh

About the Play

Director: Susan Boulanger
Run: Sep. 25 to Oct. 24, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
Online Tickets will be Available Soon.
Email the Box Office at BoxOffice@lbplayhouse.org with any questions.

 

NEW DATES:
  • Friday, Sept. 25, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Sept. 26, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, Oct. 2, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 3, 8pm
  • Sunday, Oct. 4, 2pm
  • Friday, Oct. 9, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 10, 8pm
  • Sunday,Oct. 11, 2pm
  • Friday, Oct. 16, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 17, 8pm
  • Sunday, Oct. 18, 2pm
  • Friday, Oct. 23, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 24, 8pm – Closing Night

 

PLEASE NOTE: The Studio Theater is on the 2nd Floor, it is only accessible by stairs, there is no elevator.

 

Synopsis

Billy’s dream of getting away from the island of Inishmaan seems to come true when he gets the chance to meet Hollywood director Robert Flannery as he comes to the neighboring island of Inishmore to film his next project. Will Billy have the chance to escape his tedious daily life and the casual meanness of the other inhabitants of this small Irish island, or will it all go wrong? Find out in this very funny, darkly comic tale from the…

View More Details

October 2020

Ticket icon  Tickets

NEXT TO NORMAL

Oct. 10 to Nov. 14, 2020
Book and Lyrics by Brian Yorkey, Music by Tom Kitt

About the Play

Director: Rovin Jay
Run: Oct. 10 to Nov. 14, 2020 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Synopsis

In a theatrical world filled with feel-good musicals, Next to Normal is so much more – a “feel everything musical.”  Focusing on the Goodmans, a seemingly typical suburban family, this Tony and Pulitzer winning rock musical will take the audience on a wild ride into their hopes and fears.  Nothing is as it seems for the Goodmans as they deal with teenage experimentation, marriage strains, mental illness, and suicide.  The gripping songs will touch your soul and stick in your…

View More Details

+ Export Events