Map marker icon  5021 E. Anaheim Street Long Beach CA 90804 • (562) 494-1014

Heart icon Donate   Volunteer   Audition Twitter Facebook Email

Loading Events

Shows

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

August 2022

Ticket icon  Tickets

Tales of the Long Beach Playhouse

Aug. 27, 2022

About the Play

Run: Aug. 27, 2022

Choose a Date
BUY TICKETS HERE
Synopsis

Join Us!   A look back on nearly a century of community theatre produced by the volunteers and staff of the Long Beach Playhouse. The drama, the scandals, and don’t forget about the productions onstage! ‘Tales of the Long Beach Playhouse’ will be a one night only event on our Mainstage. A mix of readers theatre and live musical performances, the evening will tell the history of the Playhouse thanks to the research of the Historical Society of Long Beach.…

View More Details

September 2022

HOLMES AND WATSON

Sep. 23 to Oct. 21, 2022
By Jeffrey Hatcher

About the Play

Director: Mitchell Nunn
Run: Sep. 23 to Oct. 21, 2022 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
SEASON SUBSCRIPTIONS NOW AVAILABLE!  Call our box-office at 562-494-1014, option 1

Individual Tickets will be available at the end of August.

 

  • Friday, Sept. 23, 2022, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Sept. 24, 2022 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, Sept. 30, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022, 8pm
  • Sunday, Oct. 2, 2022, 2pm
  • Friday, Oct. 7, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 8, 2022, 8pm
  • Sunday, Oct. 9, 2022, 2pm
  • Friday, Oct. 14, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 15, 2022, 8pm
  • Sunday, Oct. 16, 2022, 2pm
  • Friday, Oct. 21, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Oct. 22, 2022, 8pm – Closing Night

 

COVID Patron Safety Protocol

Please know that at our performances you, and everyone in your party (including children), will be asked to:

  • Provide Proof of Vaccination or show a negative Covid test result from within the past 72 hours upon entry.
  • Wear a mask within the facility.
  • Voluntarily assume all risks related to potential exposure to COVID-19.

Any questions regarding the policy please call and speak to a staff member, 562-494-1014

 

Synopsis

Sherlock Holmes is dead. Or so it is assumed. The world knows the great detective went over the Reichenbach Falls with his nemesis Professor Moriarty. But when a telegram arrives informing Dr. Watson that three men, each claiming to be Holmes, have been committed to a remote asylum off the coast of Scotland, he must discover if they are all mad men, or if one of them could possibly be the real master detective.  Experience a truly elaborate and riveting…

View More Details

November 2022

RELATIVELY SPEAKING

Nov. 4 to Dec. 3, 2022
By Alan Ayckbourn

About the Play

Director: Allen Sewell
Run: Nov. 4 to Dec. 3, 2022 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
SEASON SUBSCRIPTIONS NOW AVAILABLE!  Call our box-office at 562-494-1014, option 1

Individual Tickets will be available at the end of August.

 

  • Friday, Nov. 4, 2022, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Nov. 5, 2022, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, Nov. 11, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Nov. 12, 2022, 8pm
  • Sunday, Nov. 13, 2022, 2pm
  • Friday, Nov. 18, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Nov. 19, 2022, 8pm
  • Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022, 2pm
  • Friday, Nov. 25, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Nov. 26, 2022, 8pm
  • Sunday, Nov. 27, 2022, 2pm
  • Friday, Dec. 2, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Dec. 3, 2022, 8pm – Closing Night

 

COVID Patron Safety Protocol

Please know that at our performances you, and everyone in your party (including children), will be asked to:

  • Provide Proof of Vaccination or show a negative Covid test result from within the past 72 hours upon entry.
  • Wear a mask within the facility.
  • Voluntarily assume all risks related to potential exposure to COVID-19.

Any questions regarding the policy please call and speak to a staff member, 562-494-1014

 

Synopsis

Greg and Ginny find themselves most compatible.  But when Greg finds a pair of men’s slippers under Ginny’s bed that aren’t his, she tells him they are her father’s. Ginny is reticent to introduce him to her parents, so Greg decides to surprise her and his future in-laws by meeting them himself.  But Ginny’s parents are really in Australia, and the house Greg mistakenly goes to belongs to her former, much older lover and his unknowing wife. Hilarious misunderstandings ensue…

View More Details

December 2022

A CHRISTMAS CAROL

Dec. 9 to Dec. 18, 2022
Adapted from Charles Dickens' Novella

About the Play

Run: Dec. 9 to Dec. 18, 2022 Thursdays, Fridays, & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pms

Choose a Date
SEASON SUBSCRIPTIONS NOW AVAILABLE!  Call our box-office at 562-494-1014, option 1

Individual Tickets will be available at the end of August.

 

  • Friday, Dec. 9, 2022, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Dec. 10, 2022, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Sunday, Dec. 11, 2022, 2pm
  • Thursday, Dec. 15, 2022, 8pm
  • Friday, Dec. 16, 2022, 8pm
  • Saturday, Dec. 17, 2022, 8pm
  • Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022, 2pm – Closing

 

COVID Patron Safety Protocol

Please know that at our performances you, and everyone in your party (including children), will be asked to:

  • Provide Proof of Vaccination or show a negative Covid test result from within the past 72 hours upon entry.
  • Wear a mask within the facility.
  • Voluntarily assume all risks related to potential exposure to COVID-19.

Any questions regarding the policy please call and speak to a staff member, 562-494-1014

 

Synopsis

The perennial favorite returns for its eleventh incarnation at the Long Beach Playhouse. In this quick-paced, highly theatrical re-telling of Charles Dickens’ classic tale, the ghosts of Christmases Past, Present, and Future show Ebenezer Scrooge the poverty of his material wealth and the blessings that come with generosity. Can they convince him to change before it’s too late? Come spend time with the characters you’ve come to love – Bob Cratchit, Tiny Tim, and of course the irascible miser himself. …

View More Details

January 2023

Agatha Christie’s TOWARDS ZERO

Jan. 13 to Feb. 11, 2023
By Agatha Christie with Gerald Verner

About the Play

Run: Jan. 13 to Feb. 11, 2023 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
SEASON SUBSCRIPTIONS NOW AVAILABLE!  Call our box-office at 562-494-1014, option 1

Individual Tickets will be available at the end of August.

 

  • Friday, Jan. 13, 2023, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Jan. 14, 2023, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, Jan. 20, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, Jan. 21, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, Jan. 22, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, Jan. 27, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, Jan. 28, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, Jan. 29, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, Feb. 3, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, Feb. 5, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, Feb. 10, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, Feb. 11, 2023, 8pm – Closing Night

 

COVID Patron Safety Protocol

Please know that at our performances you, and everyone in your party (including children), will be asked to:

  • Provide Proof of Vaccination or show a negative Covid test result from within the past 72 hours upon entry.
  • Wear a mask within the facility.
  • Voluntarily assume all risks related to potential exposure to COVID-19.

Any questions regarding the policy please call and speak to a staff member, 562-494-1014

 

Synopsis

When a house party gathers at Gull’s Point, the seaside home of Lady Tressilian, her nephew, tennis star Neville Strange finds himself caught between his old wife Audrey and his new flame Kay.  In this nail-biting thriller from the Queen of Mystery herself, Agatha Christie, we probe the psychology of jealousy in the shadow of a savage and brutal murder. This is a double parlor game as before we guess the killer, we are invited to guess who is going…

View More Details

February 2023

SHE KILLS MONSTERS

Feb. 24 to Mar. 25, 2023
By Qui Nguyen

About the Play

Run: Feb. 24 to Mar. 25, 2023 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date

 

SEASON SUBSCRIPTIONS NOW AVAILABLE!  Call our box-office at 562-494-1014, option 1

Individual Tickets will be available at the end of August.

 

  • Friday, Feb. 24, 2023, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, Feb. 25, 2023, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, March 3, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, March 4, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, March 5, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, March 10, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, March 11, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, March 12, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, March 17, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, March 18, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, March 19, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, March 24, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, March 25, 2023, 8pm – Closing Night

 

COVID Patron Safety Protocol

Please know that at our performances you, and everyone in your party (including children), will be asked to:

  • Provide Proof of Vaccination or show a negative Covid test result from within the past 72 hours upon entry.
  • Wear a mask within the facility.
  • Voluntarily assume all risks related to potential exposure to COVID-19.

Any questions regarding the policy please call and speak to a staff member, 562-494-1014

 

Synopsis

After Agnes Evans loses her family in a car crash, she leaves her childhood home in Ohio, haunted by the death of her teenage sister, Tilly. But when Agnes finds Tilly’s Dungeons & Dragons notebook and decides to start playing it with her sister’s colorful teenage friends, she finds herself catapulted into a journey of discovery and action-packed adventure in the imaginary world that was her sister’s refuge. In this high-octane dramatic comedy laden with homicidal fairies, nasty ogres, and 90s pop…

View More Details

April 2023

THE DIARY OF ANNE FRANK

Apr. 7 to May. 6, 2023
By Frances Goodrich and Albert Hackett, newly adapted by Wendy Kesselman

About the Play

Run: Apr. 7 to May. 6, 2023 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
SEASON SUBSCRIPTIONS NOW AVAILABLE!  Call our box-office at 562-494-1014, option 1

Individual Tickets will be available at the end of August.

 

  • Friday, April 7, 2023, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, April 8, 2023, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, April 14, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, April 15, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, April 16, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, April 21, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, April 22, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, April 23, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, April 28, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, April 29, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, April 30, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, May 5, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, May 6, 2023, 8pm – Closing Night

 

COVID Patron Safety Protocol

Please know that at our performances you, and everyone in your party (including children), will be asked to:

  • Provide Proof of Vaccination or show a negative Covid test result from within the past 72 hours upon entry.
  • Wear a mask within the facility.
  • Voluntarily assume all risks related to potential exposure to COVID-19.

Any questions regarding the policy please call and speak to a staff member, 562-494-1014

 

Synopsis

In this undeniably moving new adaptation, Anne Frank emerges from history, a living, lyrical, intensely gifted young girl, who confronts her rapidly changing life and the increasing horror of her time with astonishing honesty, wit, and determination. Anne’s voice shines through in this impassioned drama about the lives of eight people hiding from the Nazis in a concealed storage attic, as it captures the claustrophobic realities of their daily existence—their fear, their hope, their laughter, their grief. This is a…

View More Details

June 2023

IN THE HEIGHTS

Jun. 30 to Aug. 5, 2023
Music and Lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda, Book by Quiara Alegrí­a Hudes

About the Play

Run: Jun. 30 to Aug. 5, 2023 Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm, Sundays at 2pm

Choose a Date
SEASON SUBSCRIPTIONS NOW AVAILABLE!  Call our box-office at 562-494-1014, option 1

Individual Tickets will be available at the end of August.

 

  • Friday, June 30, 2023, 8pm – Half Price Preview
  • Saturday, July 1, 2023, 8pm – Opening Night and Champagne Gala
  • Friday, July 7, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 8, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 9, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, July 14, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 15, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 16, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, July 21, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 22, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 23, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, July 28, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, July 29, 2023, 8pm
  • Sunday, July 30, 2023, 2pm
  • Friday, Aug. 4, 2023, 8pm
  • Saturday, Aug. 5, 2023, 8pm – Closing Night

 

COVID Patron Safety Protocol

Please know that at our performances you, and everyone in your party (including children), will be asked to:

  • Provide Proof of Vaccination or show a negative Covid test result from within the past 72 hours upon entry.
  • Wear a mask within the facility.
  • Voluntarily assume all risks related to potential exposure to COVID-19.

Any questions regarding the policy please call and speak to a staff member, 562-494-1014

 

Synopsis

This joyful Tony award-winning musical tells the story of a vibrant community in New York’s Washington Heights neighborhood – a place where the coffee from the bodega is light and sweet, the windows are always open and the breeze carries the rhythm of three generations of music.  Usnavi, owner of the corner bodega, dreams of going out with local salon worker, Vanessa, as she dreams of leaving the Heights for her own apartment in the West Village. When someone wins…

View More Details

+ Export Events